You are here

Your local authority

When seeking advice, you often need to know which local authority you area you live in.

Scotland is divided into 32 local authority areas. Local authorities are responsibile for a range of services including housing, education and social work.

You may know the name of your local authority through contact with council, e.g. a Council Tax bill.

If you are unsure which local authority you live in, then you can check using your postcode on the GOV.UK website.

Note: some bureaux are only funded to advise people that live in a particular local authority area.