You are here

EU Settlement Scheme

The UK left the European Union (EU) on 31 January 2020. EU nationals and anyone from Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway or Switzerland, living in the UK by 31 December 2020 had until 30 June 2021 to apply to the EU Settlement Scheme to stay in the UK.

From 1 January 2021, the rights of EU nationals and anyone from Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway or Switzerland, living in the UK changed. We've published advice on what this means for people living in Scotland.

Staying in the UK now that we have left the EU

If you're from the EU, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway or Switzerland, your options for staying in the UK depend on your situation. The EU Citizens Support Service is a free, confidential and impartial service and provides a helpline on 0800 916 9847.  The helpline is open on Monday and Friday between 9am and 1pm and on a Wednesday between 1pm and 5pm.  Calls outwith these hours will have a voicemail option and be answered the following working day.

The deadline for most people to apply to the EU Settlement Scheme for pre-settled or settled status was 30 June 2021. However, you might still be able to apply if you’re in one of these situations:

• you started living in the UK by 31 December 2020 and you need to make a late application
• your family member has pre-settled or settled status and you want to join them in the UK
• you have a valid biometric residence permit or visa

If you’re not in any of these situations, you can only stay in the UK as a visitor for up to 6 months. If you want to live in the UK, you’ll need a work, study or family visa. You can check if you can get a visa on GOV.UK.

For further information check our online advice on staying in the UK if you’re from the EU.

Anyone that has made an application to remain in the UK through the EU Settlement Scheme that has been granted Pre-Settled Status should apply for Settled Status once they have had 5 years continuous residence in the UK.  You must apply for Settled Status before your Pre-Settled Status expires.

Rights of EU Citizens in Scotland

You can find a series of factsheets about the rights of EU citizens in Scotland on the JustCitizens website. These factsheets cover citizens' rights to:

• work
• NHS healthcare
• vote
• study
• benefits
• housing
• Social Work support

The factsheets are available in English, Italian, Lithuanian, Polish, Romanian and Spanish